Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

Reasons to watch:

  • Intriguing portrait of a child with asperger syndrome
  • Very well portrayed
  • If you want an emotional, very human journey
  • If you are just rounding out watching the best picture nominees of this year

Reasons to skip:

  • If you don’t like crying, especially the feeling of being almost forced to cry
  • If you want to be uplifted
  • If you are expecting a lot from Tom Hanks
  • If you don’t like 9/11 movies
  • It also requires some patience
  • If you were expecting this to be a real best picture contender, worthy of going head to head with the likes of The Artist, Hugo or The Descendants

Review:

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close was a good enough movie. The acting was satisfactory across the board, tho the child was very well portrayed by Thomas Horn. Given the subject matter, I knew going in that this would be an emotional movie, and I have no problem with that. What I did have a problem with, however, was that at times I felt as if lines of dialogue or even entire scenes were added purely to make me cry. When tears are being forcefully coaxed out of me, because I am a human being and cry when something is very sad, it doesn’t hold weight as well as when I am crying more out of a bond with the characters. There were moments when I cried for this reason as well, which made all the more reason for the scenes which practically forced tears to be cut out. I really didn’t need the extra push to get me going, there was enough emotion in the movie anyway.

Really, that is about the only thing I can say I disliked about the movie. As I described with the acting, I found most of the rest of the movie to be satisfactory. The real shining point is Thomas Horn and the journey he goes on to find meaning in ‘the worst day’. Worth a watch for most drama fans.

About watchitfounder

Writing movie reviews is fuuuun.
This entry was posted in Drama and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

